Welcome to the Dayton Unit NAACP

Message from our President


On behalf of the Dayton Unit NAACP, 1st Lady Jean and I, welcome you to our Website. Founded in 1915, the Dayton Unit NAACP is the oldest and largest Civil and Human Rights organization in the Dayton Region. Our members, volunteers, office staff, organizers, committee chairs, Twitter and Facebook friends continue to fight for social justice for ALL Americans. We hope you have an opportunity to view our Annual Reports to be enlightened about our work. Please navigate through our website to learn more about our organization. We encourage your youth to participate in our youth enrichment programs.

Your Community servant, 

Dr. Derrick L. Foward 


"Move Forward With Foward"

"Our Success Is Influenced By Your Actions (DLF)" 

Founded in 1915, the Dayton Unit of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is the city’s oldest and largest nonpartisan civil rights organization. Our members throughout the Dayton Region and Montgomery County are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities. Our core goals are to Inform, Educate and Empower the Citizenry as we pursue justice and equality for all Americans. 

For more information on the Dayton Unit NAACP, please call (937) 222-2172 or visit www.naacpdayton.org

Local President Wins Re-election to Seventh Two-Year Term

Fellow Citizens: 


On Sunday, November 4, 2018, the Dayton Unit of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People NAACP held it’s Biennial Election at the Dayton Unit NAACP office. Dr. Derrick L. Foward was re-elected as President of the Dayton Unit NAACP with his term commencing on January 1, 2019 and ending on December 31, 2020. He has won re-election to his seventh 2-year term.

“I am humbled and truly appreciate the members of the Dayton Unit NAACP for believing in my leadership and entrusting me to lead the organization for another two years,” said Dr. Derrick L. Foward, President of the Dayton Unit NAACP. “We will remain focused on our 21st Century Game Changers which are as follows: Economic Sustainability; Education; Health; Public Safety and Criminal Justice; Voting Rights and Political Representation; and Expand Youth and Young Adult Engagement” said Foward. “We will continue to hold everyday citizens, small and large business owners and corporations accountable for the racial or bigoted actions they take. We have no permanent friends or permanent enemies, only interests. We must ALL strive to live in an America that is inclusive of ALL people” said Foward.

Members of the NAACP voted on their elected officials Sunday with a majority of incumbents retaining their positions. The other people elected to serve in the Foward administration include:

First Vice President: Rev. Herman E. Branham (Incumbent); Second Vice President: Tom Roberts (Incumbent); Third Vice President: Willie A. Terrell, Jr. (Incumbent); Secretary: Clair Mae Thompson (Incumbent); Assistant Secretary: Lauretta Williams (Incumbent); Treasurer: Cedric L. McGhee (Incumbent); and Assistant Treasurer: Harvey C. Bolden.

Executive Committee: Stacey D. Benson Taylor (Incumbent); Lu Dale (Incumbent); Eric L. Ellington, Sr. (Incumbent); Rev. Dr. David I. Fox (Incumbent); Arnetta G. Gary (Incumbent); Marvene A. Mitchell (Incumbent); David Montgomery (Incumbent); Dr. Carl E. Moyler (Incumbent); Ayo O. Ogunduyile (Incumbent); Derrick Scales, Sr. (Incumbent); Christopher L. Shaw (Incumbent); Scott E. Sliver (Incumbent): Deborah A. Smith (Incumbent); William Thomas Spear (Incumbent); and Dr. Anthony B. Whitmore (Incumbent).

Armed Services and Veterans Affairs Presentation

Fellow Citizens:


The Dayton Unit of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) will host a Town Hall titled, “Services Available and Provided to Our Local Veterans.” The event will be held on Monday, November 26, 2018 at 6:30 pm at the Dayton Boys Preparatory Academy located at 1923 W. Third St. The distinguished guest panelists will be Jill Dietrich, Director, Dayton VA Medical Center; Cheryl Malone, Lt. Colonel US Air Force (Retired), CEO/Founder of Life Transition for Me; Brandon C. McClain, Montgomery County Recorder; Stanley Pleasant, District Commander, Ohio American Legion; and Juanita Ballard, District President, Ohio Women’s Auxiliary. The moderator will be Terrence Williams, Chair of the Dayton Unit NAACP Armed Services and Veterans Affairs Committee.

President Derrick L. Foward Approval Rating Survey

Overall, do you approve of the job that our Local President is doing? Please provide a YES or NO answer in the message box below and hit SEND. After providing your YES or NO answer, you can provide feedback if you so desire. This survey is for Dayton Unit NAACP Executive Committee Members only.

Survey Closes on November 30, 2018

Hot Issues in Dayton

Grandview Medical Center Expanding to Meet the Healthcare Needs of the Community


NAACP Dayton Collaboration With Grandview Medical Center

GVMC's NAACP Letter to President Foward Final Document (pdf)


President's Briefing With Premier Health Executives

Check out this great video

Premier Health Communications

President's 2018 Letter to Mary Boosalis W-Sign (pdf)


Premier Health CEO Mary Boosalis Response - 2-19-18 (pdf)


Premier Health CEO Mary Boosalis Response - 4-16-18 (pdf)


Community Stakeholders Strategy for DPS Schools

Dayton Unit NAACP Community Forum Summary (pdf)


President's 2018 Letter to DPS Board W-Sign (pdf)


DPS Superintendent Response to President Foward Letter (pdf)


DPS Superintendent Attendance Matters Letter (pdf)


Dayton Unit NAACP 2018 Attendance Letter to Parents (pdf)


Who We Represent?


The NAACP was founded by a multi-racial group of people pursuing to end racial discrimination.


We have an active Junior Youth Council (Ages 1-13), Youth Council (Ages 14-17), High School Chapter (High School Students), and Adult Unit, an opportunity for everybody to get involved!


We protect the Civil and Human Rights of all Americans.

Stay Connected With Us!

Join us in the fight for Justice and Equality for ALL Americans!

Let Us Hear From You...Help Us Enhance Our Brand!

Drop us a line!

Become the Change Agent who Transforms the Community!

We look forward to seeing you at our Monthly Community Meetings typically held on the 4th Monday of every month at 6:00 p.m. at the Dayton Boys Preparatory Academy located at 1923 W. Third St.

Dayton Unit NAACP

1528 W 3rd Street, Dayton, OH 45402, US

(937) 222-2172



10:00 am – 2:00 pm


10:00 am – 2:00 pm


10:00 am – 2:00 pm


10:00 am – 2:00 pm


10:00 am – 2:00 pm